Antheil writes about working at the family shoe store in Trenton

One of my fellow shoe clerks, a very likeable young fellow with a bright cheery Jimmy Cagney manner, was later to become the most blood-curdling gangster of New Jersey….

I meanwhile, placidly worked in the shoestore, content with the idea that its slight income afforded me everything in life I wanted most. Whenever a young lady customer became too demanding and had me tear out half of our women’s stock for her, I would innocently bring out a pair of men’s hip boots and suggest that I try them on her. This would invariably so confuse her that I would soon thereafter be rid of her – without complaint to our management.

Around about this time the boys at school nicknamed me “Angel Face”. This was to remain my nickname until I eventually left Trenton.

Leave a Reply

